Lewisham Faith Leaders’ Joint Statement about Terrorist Incident in Westminster 22 March 2017

Lewisham Faith Leaders stand together in condemning the terrorism incidentthat took place on Wednesday 22 March 2017 at Westminster which claimed innocent lives and caused serious injuries to dozens more. Our thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families.

Heinous acts such as this, perpetrated with such callous brutality,can never be justified, and theLewisham community stands in absolute solidarity with the people of London in this difficult time.

We would like to thank the Police and Emergency services for their swift actions and bravery in the face of life-threatening danger. We also pay tribute to the ordinary persons at the scene displaying courage and selflessness in tending to the wounded.

While we await further news on Wednesday’s tragedy, we invite everyone in Lewisham and beyond to join our Annual Walk for Peace on 21 May 2017 that celebrates our strength in diversity while promoting peace, justice, mutual respect and tolerance.

Father Charles Pickstone -St Laurence Church, Lewisham

Reverend Dr Stephen Maunder – Superintendent Minister, Lewisham Methodist Churches

Imam Shakeel Begg –Lewisham Islamic Centre

Father Philip Corbett – St Stephen’s Vicarage, Lewisham

Mr Joe Burchell – Chair of Catford and Bromley Synagogue

Mr Raj Vallipuram – Trustee of London Sivan Temple

Father Steve Hall – St Mary’s Lewisham

Bishop Karowei Dorgu – Bishop of Woolwich

Reverend Carol Bostridge – Lewisham Street Pastors Co-ordinator & District Minister for London Baptist Association

Reverend Bridget Shepherd – Church of the Good Shepherd, Lee

Nigel Desborough – Ecumenical Borough Dean

Rev Stuart Leck – Team Vicar at St Barnabas Church, Catford & Downham Team Ministry

Reverend Canon Peter Farley-Moore – St John’s, Deptford

Father Chris Connor – St Saviour’s Catholic Church, Lewisham

The Venerable Alastair Cutting – Archdeacon of Lewisham & Greenwich

Graham Price – Chief Inspector at Lewisham Metropolitan Police

Father Martin Thomas – St John the Baptist, Catford

Councillor Janet Daby – Labour Local Councillor for Whitefoot Ward & Lewisham Cabinet Member

Posted in Press Releases.